Did somebody say Chorizo?

I grew up eating Chorizo and eggs for breakfast all my life, and till this day it is one of my favorite dinners to make for Elora and Me. It is simple and harkens to our hispanic childhood. Me being 1/2 Mexican and her being Scandinavian growing up in San Antonio. The problem is being able to find the chorizo that I love from the store, and since we shop a lot at Whole foods, they have this thing about being healthy. I don’t know about you but, just because I can’t cut it into a steak and grill it. It doesn’t mean its not healthy to me. So this left me in a quandary. Until I started my Garde Manger class at TCA. It dawned on me like a brick to the head, why can’t I just make my own chorizo. So started my research in history and recipes.

Disclaimer-this is the first run on the formula, in the future it will probably grow and change, but I am happy with the turn out on this recipe. (It will need to sit for a few Days to develop its flavors, if you plan on smoking or storing it, let me know and I will give you more info on safely drying and storage.

2 dried ancho chilies
3 Fire roasted and skinned green chilies
2 lbs. pork shoulder
2/3 cup rendered bacon fat cool but liquid
1 T. Sea salt
1 tsp. ground chipotle
1 T. fresh ground black pepper
1 T Paprika
2 tsp. cumin
1 tsp. dried Mex. Oregano
1/8 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 tsp. fresh ground allspice
6-8 Cloves Garlic Finely minced
1/4 C. Sherry vinegar
1 C. Chopped Cilantro Leaves

Rehydrate your dried chilies by pouring a pot of boiling water over them in a bowl, cover and let them set for an hour. They should be tender and skins and seeds should come off easily. Use 1/4 Cup of liquid to help puree the meat of the chilies.

Add all chilies and dry ingredients to mixer with paddle attachment. Mix on medium low, slowly pouring fat in first, and then vinegar. continue mixing until mixture pulls away form side of bowl, make sure to shut down the mixer half way through the process and scrap the bottom of the bowl with a spatula. The mixture should be evenly distributed.

You should always test your sausage, for this I would suggest heating a skillet and browning an ounce of chorizo, you are tasting for salt, the rest of the flavors will develop and even out after two or three days if you haven’t eaten it by then or you can freeze it, portioned out and rolled in film and stuffed in freezer bags to use as you like.

*You can use ground pork but be aware that over all the fat content should be around 25-30%, but for you health folks stick to the bacon fat it works nicely in lean pork (95%), should only drop the lean percentage down to 90%
If you have a grinder and stuffer you can use pork shoulder or like i would like beef check mixed in with the pork and replace the bacon fat with fat back and grind together.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Culinary School and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

