Acorn Squash Soup

i am grateful for my parents growing up. Most of the time we were on the poorer side by american standards, but throughout the whole time my Mom and Dad both tried to bring different foods to the table to widen our taste palette.  Summer time was great when we would go to my grand parents house and pick tomatoes, okra, peppers peaches, and black berries.  I really grew to appreciate the fresh foods which started my love of Farm to Table eating.  i love the seasonal change of foods when fall start moving in, even though in Central Texas you may not notice it by the temperatures only by the foods)  The flavors of food change so drastically from light acidic vegetables to hearty filling root vegetables and dark leafy greens and winter squash.

It was a great day for my mom when she found out that i like winter squash, that made it economically feasible for her to buy it since that meant two out of the four would be eating it.  My dad will not eat any squash or sweet potato and my sister wasn’t as adventurous at the time.   She would bring everything from Spaghetti squash to Acorn and Butternut squash though most of the time they were just roasted with brown sugar and butter, i find that i don’t really enjoy adding sugar to sweet potatoes and squashes so now days i just leave it off and the natural sugars speak for them self.

So in tribute to my mother I made an Acorn Squash soup with cilantro oil for dinner tonight…even though it’s still in the 90’s. As with all my recipes i post there will be measurements and certain seasonings listed but feel free change things and let me know how they go. My philosophy with cooking is learn the process and technique then do what you want with the flavors, make it your own.

Acorn Squash Soup
Origin: Russell Ramirez
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cooking Time: 15 minutes
Inactive Prep Time: 1 hour
Difficulty: Easy

Ingredients:
● 1 ea Acorn Squash, cut in half
● 2 cups milk, warm
● 2-4 tbsp butter
● pinch cinnamon
● pinch allspice, fresh grated
● pinch nutmeg, fresh ground
● pinch chipotle, ground
● white pepper, fresh ground
● kosher salt
● paprika, for garnish

Description:
A hearty soup that balances the natural sweetness of the squash with the warming spices.

Directions:
1) With a large sharp knife, cut the squash in half. with a large spoon clean out the seeds and soft parts. Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Place in a large dish face up, bake in a 350° oven till tender to a knife.

2) Heat milk up in a pot on low. Scrap squash out with spoon, and place in a blender with butter, spices, and half of the milk, and puree, adding milk until it is light and creamy. Taste for salt and pepper, but the main flavor should be the squash.

3) Pour the soup in a bowl. Sprinkle with paprika and drizzle with cilantro oil.

*this soups yields enough for 4 first course servings or do dinner servings.  while eating it tonight i, realized that the best garnish would have been toasted pecans floated on top for a meaty crunch.

This entry was posted in Cooking, family and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Acorn Squash Soup

  1. Prudence says:

    I recently fell in love with Acorn Squash. It is much milder than I expected. And it wasn’t too long ago that I decided I love sweet potatoes. I crave them now.

    I have an Acorn Squash sitting in the kitchen I was going to roast, maybe I’ll make this instead.

  2. Pingback: Quinoa and Fennel Stuffed Cornish Game Hens | The Rocking Chef

Leave a Reply

